Home > Arsenal News > “Arsenal are delighted to announce….” plus Usmanov plan gunned down and an Early morning rant !..

“Arsenal are delighted to announce….” plus Usmanov plan gunned down and an Early morning rant !..

Good Morning gooners!

“Arsenal are delighted to announce…….”, were the words on Arsenal.com and certainly we are delighted to hear, RVP has signed a new contract which will keep him at the club till 2014.Now that’s one of the best news I have heard coming from the Emirates stadium this summer. I have been a big fan of this guy since he joined Arsenal back in 2004.I like his style of play, commitment and most of all the gorgeous free kicks. I still remember his volley against Charlton Athletic which for me was really one of the best goals of that season.I agree we don’t see the old Van Persie thunders,which go into the top corner at lightening pace, anymore but he still could have had 20 goals or more last season only to be denied by the woodwork. In an interview after signing the contract, RVP said something which every gooner would like to hear again and again and hope that other players learn from it.

Robin van Persie said: “I’m so happy to have signed a new long term contract. I’ve been at the Club for five years now and there really is a great feeling here at Arsenal. We have a top class manager, a squad full of superb young players, a world class stadium and brilliant supporters. Arsenal Football Club has a very bright future and I want to be part of it.

“My heart is with Arsenal and I just can’t picture myself in a different shirt. I just can’t see it now because I love this Club so much. If you look at the last five years, look at the steps I have made every season, if you look at the support the Boss and the whole Club gave me, the fans gave me, my team mates gave me – this is the right decision.”

Again its not that I want all the players to come out and say that just for the sake of it. I really think Van Persie meant it. This is a guy who had numerous discipline problems during his time at Feyenoord and it was purely Wenger’s faith in RVP that brought him to London. And now I feel its his way of paying back the manager’s faith and support. After seeing Henry go I had all my hopes pinned on him and really believed that he could be the  next Arsenal legend and he can still do it.He’s been plagued with injuries that have ruled him out for long periods but when fully fit we all know what he is capable of and we surely got a glimpse of it last season. Here’s a big  CHEER for RVP and hope he stays injury free in the coming years. Van you are still the Man for Arsenal.

Moving onto some more serious stuff, Arsenal’s second largest shareholder Alisher Usmanov’s proposed rights issue to generate more cash was rejected by the board. It does seem like Usmanov had other interests also regarding the rights issue but seeing other clubs making rapid strides in the transfer market it might not be a bad idea to have some cash at our disposal.With AstonVilla, Everton and Manchester City all capable of upsetting the ‘Big four‘ we could have done with some cash and signed a top class player. Again I don’t have a Phd in economics and neither am I a business man to comment on the issue but I do feel that Arsene Wenger (who by the way has a degree in Economics), Gazidis ,Peter Hill Wood and other top people at the club could have worked out and refined this proposal and made it work rather than rejecting it completely.

Arsenal chief executive Ivan Gazidis said regarding the rights issue, “We can comfortably afford to meet the annual costs of this debt while at the same time generating surplus funds to invest in the club.”With regard to players, the board decided not to issue permanent capital in the hopes of signing one or two players in an inflated transfer market.”Instead, the focus continues to be on securing the services of talented young players we have on long-term contracts and making very selective acquisitions, only where a new signing will add real value to our already strong squad.” He went on to add ..“There is a football graveyard of clubs that have not adhered to these principles and have unfortunately suffered the consequences.”

Ok, so going by his words the board can generate surplus funds and maintain its “very-efficient” structure. I don’t see that happening because right now all we are doing is maintaining a “very efficient“ structure and not generating funds to buy players. A fact only highlighted by Arsenal not surely but most likely missing out on Melo. My argument is that if we do have funds and will buy only to add real value to our already strong squad, why have we not signed Melo yet. We all know Wenger admires the player, the club needs a strong defensive midfielder and Fiorentina are ready to listen to offers. Yet we don’t have a signing.Why is it that when it comes down to Melo or Arshavin or other top players who also attract interest from other clubs, we seem to hesitate and become vulnerable. Thomas Vermaelen was an out an out smooth deal but when it comes to top players we do seem to struggle in acquiring their signature. And I don’t mean Vermaelen is not a top player but he’s certainly not a marquee signing. Another issue I have with the board is its continued preference to sign or re-sign players on longer contracts. Off all the players who have signed a contract extension I feel only RVP’s was needed at the moment. All the others like Ramsey,Gibbs & Wilshere had 3 or more years still left. Instead of offering a pay rise to each of these on new contracts and paying them a signing fees everytime they sign a new contract, we could very well have used those resources to buy a player we need at the moment. Also rejecting the proposal adds more pressure on AW to show results since the board would not want to be in a situation where it is ridiculed for not having accepted the proposal and used the cash.I have no doubts about AW’s or the board’s intentions but I do feel the focus is more on the future and not the present. I hope I am proved wrong and the club does take steps to ensure we win a trophy this year. I think I have shared my views and let my feelings out on this topic which makes me feel better.

I’ll keep you posted with the latest happenings at Arsenal… Have a nice day.

Cheers!

  1. Gooner4life
    July 9, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Thats an amazing one…and yes Rob signing the contract is by far the best news this summer.

  2. LRV
    July 9, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    If you have young promising stars who are poorly paid, others will tempt them away. And when they become hot properties and you need them, then you will have to look for inflated amounts of money to buy them back. How silly is that? So it makes sense to improve their pay in order to keep them.

  3. July 13, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    yeh but the man should be captain

  4. July 14, 2009 at 6:59 am

    @ LRV : Ya but they still have 3-4 yrs left on their contracts and wouldn’t be subject of a bid….

    @ The Binocular…..As far as capt is concerned RVP was my choice too after Willy was stripped of the captaincy. Anyways Cesc is doing a good job too!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

