Home > Arsenal News > Déjà vu ….Oh!!Would you please buy some players now…Wenger!!

Déjà vu ….Oh!!Would you please buy some players now…Wenger!!

Good Morning Gooners!

Let’s start brightly with the fact that Arsenal won yesterday’s friendly against SC Columbia.7-1. Ramsey,RVP,Bendtner scoring braces and Gallas chipping in with his bit. It would have been more flattering if we had won 27-0 like Villareal did the other day in their pre-season fixture. Still I am happy with the fact that Ramsey,RVP,Vermaelen,Nicky and Djourou got a nice 45 minutes under their belt. I’m a bit concerned about Almunia seeing his performance yesterday and even against Barnet FC. But I do believe he will come good once the season starts.Let’s hope he does because with him not in form and Fabianski injured we only have the young Italian Vito as back up.

Coming down to the sad news of yesterday. Samir Nasri got injured during training and will be out for 2-3months. Déjà vu ..Arsenal Fans….. RVP injured during international friendly, Theo dislocates shoulder during training, Rosicky out for 2 months (which ended up being a year and half), Eduardo out for 4 months etc. These headlines have now become quite familiar and we fans kind of expect it coming sometime or the other. (I wish I could just switch off my mind and t.v/laptop and resume only in August.)

I really feel sad about it though. Samir had a nice first season and seemed he would step it up a notch this season. A broken leg is what is being said about the injury which does rule him out till November. But our players do heal at snail’s pace so I’ll add another 2-3 weeks to that estimate. It’s not horrific as Eduardo’s but it’s still a setback for the guy, the team and the fans. So that’s our 1st injury of the new season. Unfortunately even before the season starts.

So What now for Wenger? What does he do? Is he going to come out and say we have players like Diaby,Arshavin,Theo,Vela,Eboue and Rosicky who can play in that position and so he’s relaxed about it? Or Is he going to say that when Nasri comes back in January he will be like a new signing and so he doesn’t need to spend now?

Just so that you know Mr Wenger, that playing players out of their main position and relying on Rosicky, who’s just kicked a ball after a year and a half, doesn’t sound very comforting for the fans.What is it with Wenger and his thinking that whatever he does is the best? It’s about time he realized that he needs to replace players when needed, not react after seeing his team do badly for half the season and then panicking in January. In one of my previous articles I said we are still 2 players short for challenging the likes of Chelsea,Liverpool and Man U. Now I think that number has gone up. There is something about injuries and Arsenal. It looks more like an Injury FC than Arsenal FC. Going by this, Wenger should have at least 3 players for each position. One main player for a position,one back up and another back up for the backup… I’m sounding crazy here but we need that if our players keep falling like 9 pins.

I say let’s forget about pre-season fixtures and training. Let’s bubble wrap Rosicky, Fabregas, RVP and Arshavin till our fixture against Everton. It won’t happen but it’s a crazy idea from a frustrated Arsenal fan.Also I am not too sure about how the injury was caused but reading a few comments on some websites it seems like a tackle from Diaby. I am not blaming the guy or something because I am not sure about it. Again I really wouldn’t bet against it. We all know what he did with John Terry and Wesley Sneijder. Anyways how Nasri got injured is still a mystery so I will give Diaby the benefit of the doubt. But I am not a fan of Diaby and he’s never looked like being the Patrick Viera of our team. He does perform well in pre-season like he has been doing for the past 2 years but when it comes down to the real deal he is either injured or plays rubbish. Apart from the goal against Liverpool in CL the season before, I really can’t think of anything he has done for us. I wouldn’t mind if he was sold. I’m sure the likes of Bolton or even a Rugby team would like to buy him. Sell him and use the cash.

Wake up Wenger, Wake Up!! It’s about time you spent some money…Else Arsenal will struggle for a top four finish.

Before I sign off, I wish Samir Nasri a speedy recovery. We’ll miss U Samir. Get Well Soon!

 

PS:I’m a bit frustrated today about the way things have been going on and also Wenger’s statements don’t make me feel any better.Lets hope  for some good news from Arsenal today!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 22, 2009 at 1:43 pm

Leave a Reply

